Some people today believe that the world’s increase in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The population of the world is ever growing. Some people believe that this increase has created an unsustainable situation and that it will lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that only through an increasing population can the world’s economy and society develop. This population increase is not constant around the world; population is undergoing significant growth, especially in less developed countries, and the continent of Africa is predicted to undergo the highest increase. Many people living in these less developed countries frequently face shortages, such as water, food, heating, cooking fuel and medicines, and people have to live in substandard living conditions by western standards. With more inhabitants, these difficulties will become exacerbated and helping these countries might also create strain on the resources and economies of other countries. On the other hand, many countries are unable to reach their economic potential due to a lack of skilled work forces. For these countries a growing population can mean a stronger economy and, due to that, a better standard of living. Growing populations can also lead to growing demand for goods, allowing economies to expand. The problem is, however, that countries that are in need of labour forces and increasing demand are already the more developed countries and they meet some of these needs by immigration and exporting goods. In conclusion, while certain areas of the world are in need of larger work forces to develop their economies, the continually increasing population could potentially lead to a crisis within countries that already struggle to provide for their inhabitants.