In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the United Kingdom, individuals when reaches the old age usually spend their lives in old age homes where caretakers take care of them. Occasionally, the government has the responsibility to pay for the retirement homes. This essay agrees that it is the duty of the political party in power to take care of the elder population. This essay will first, outline that old people when are young pay huge taxes to the ministry for such amenities and second, families are already burdened to meet the expenses of their children and other basic needs. Elderly people during their younger ages have paid tariffs to the government for the development of old age home, where they will get basic facilities and a warm environment. This is to say, the government has collected a huge amount of taxes from people, which they must spend on building retirement homes for elderlies where there are professional nurses to look after their physical and mental health. To elucidate, a recent study conducted by The New York Times found that more than 80 percent of taxes collected by the government are used in constructing old age homes. Furthermore, families of older people are already burdened with several responsibilities and thus, they cannot incur extra costs for retirement homes. In other words, the families of older people have to incur financial expense in order to meet the basic amenities of their children, along with this paying for retirement homes will put them in financial constraints. For instance, a recent study by The Times showed that more than 60 percent of the families of older people have financial burdens and constraints and hence, they are not able to pay their care and well being. To conclude, although some people believe that families must incur the expenses of old people's wellbeing and safekeeping. However, In my opinion, I vehemently agree that the ministry should ensure to take care of older people as they have paid huge taxes to the ministry and the families already have huge financial stress.