Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give relevant examples from your knowledge?

In the materialistic era, the English language has become more important than other languages in all the nations of the world. Every person wants to improve their vocabulary skills for different purposes in the community. English is an international expression which is spoken in all over the cosmos. Those humans who ignore to learning it, then they come to deal with serious issues. The essay will put light on why English speech is important for learning in schools. Firstly, English is the official sound in more than 50 countries, most of which are well-developed nations where one might be interested in settling down in the future. English speaking skills will come in handy in situations when you are trying to migrate abroad. The English speaking countries such as the US, the UK and Canada are considered to be the best destinations for higher education. One must, therefore, have a strong command of the prose in order to successfully thrive in an English speaking country. In addition, the job opportunities for an individual with better English skills are numerous. The employers are only interested in those candidates who can have a good conversation with their clients and express their opinions fluently. This skill is extremely important in this age of globalisation as the clients of the employers are often from different parts of the world. A good knowledge of English is also required to make the best use of information available on the internet because most of the websites are in English. However, I feel the local languages should also be taught so as to preserve them for future generations. There are many scriptures and books written in local languages that are full of knowledge and wisdom. For example, the books on Ayurveda, a traditional healing practice, are written in Sanskrit. As many people are leaning towards natural healing therapy, it has become all the more important to learn and preserve the minority languages that allow us to decipher such ancient texts. Including these languages in the school curriculum is one of the ways to preserve them. Parents should make an effort to teach their children by regularly conversing with them in their mother tongue. Also, the Government should provide incentives such as scholarships to students with local style skills. To conclude, I believe that English is necessary to succeed in all walks of life as it makes one more confident. Nevertheless, the local jargon also needs to be given their due respect. I feel an equal effort should be made by individuals to learn both these languages.