Some young people are leaving the country side to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

Humans have always migrated to different places in search of better opportunities. But, in the last few decades, human migration to cities have increased by many folds, leaving old people to fend for themselves. In this essay, I shall discuss the reasons behind it and what could governments do alleviate this issue. One of the main reasons people move to cities is in search of jobs. Compared to last few generations, the current ones are more college educated and has specialized in specific fields. Rural areas don't generally have a lot of jobs other than farming, health care and education. But in contrast, jobs in urban areas are a lot more diversified. This is due to the fact that most of the industries are concentrated towards areas surrounding cities. This will lead to higher population density in such regions which will in turn opens up a lot more supporting job opportunities like restaurants, supermarkets, public transportation etc. Governments need to actively work to fix the concentration of people in selected regions. One of the primary things they can do is to encourage big businesses to invest in rural areas. Since most of the companies pay their employees based on the cost of living of the location they are in, starting offices or factories in country side would mean they need to spend less. Secondly, local authorities could incentivize people to stay back in underdeveloped regions. For example, many countries give citizenship to immigrants if they agree to live and work in remote areas. To conclude, human migration is a huge problem faced by many countries, but some of them are actively trying to fix it. Hopefully, by next generation, we will see a more evenly distributed population density and wealth.