Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, opinions have been divided as to whether employers should tell their staff how to dress or not since it does not directly influence work productivity. Although the dress code of employees is not vitally important, it exists for some positive purposes in various jobs. There is a whole host of reasons why employees should be allowed to wear relaxed dress code. The primary reasons for this trend is that since customers would judge an enterprises mostly by their products, it is unnecessary to have a uniform in particular job such as technology. In fact, some of the most successful technology giants, namely Facebook or Google, are prominent for the relaxed environment they try to create. Here, by galvanizing employees to dress casually, their work was of outstanding quality, thus, these corporations became undeniably prosperous. Therefore, strict dress codes are completely unnecessary in the technology sector. Having said that, however the rules regarding employees' clothing are still relevant in other work situations. For example, a nurse or a police need to wear uniforms for not only practical and safety reasons, but also a sense of recognition or identity. Additionally, lawyers or politicians also have to wear formal clothing in order to either gain more credibility from the dwellers or portray an image of authority, trustworthiness and diligence. Thereby most of us prefer to see these professionals in smart, formal attire, even if it is not strictly necessary. In conclusion, even though the trend relaxed dress codes for worker appears attractive, I believe that it is only compatible with certain occupation.