Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In our modern society, time for watching TV set accounts for a large proportion of children’s daily activities. Some people argue that this action is not educational compared to read books, resulting in a less well-educated generation. In my opinion, I do not agree with above view and several reasons will be listed in my essay. On the one hand, it is an undeniable truth that a large amount of time is spent on watching station among children. According to a recent survey of National University in Viet Nam, children spend at least three hours on the box, while the figure for doing exercise is approximately two and a half hours and only one hour of reading. Having said that, children have been more and more enthralled in watching TV and less interested in other social activities. On the other hand, I do not agree with the view that children are less good-educated since they tend to overreach television. Just because they do not read useful books does not mean that they are left behind nor they are less into their academic study. In contrast, TV set is listed among the most effective ways of learning that most teachers are applying in their curriculum. Reading monotonous books might discourage children from exploring new concepts, whereas watching video can develop their curiosity as well as their imagination because novel knowledge which is presented in visual format would help children remember better in the long term. In conclusion, watching TV set has been a dominant recreational activity among children. I believe that watching TV is the culprit of less well-educated generation as this action does good for children in some aspects as mentioned above.