In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Living in nuclear families or apart from others in urban areas is becoming a tendency in human society nowadays. Personally, I believe this trend will definitely bring back numerous benefits. First of all, the worth mentioning here is that when people live independently, they can have a chance to develop their interpersonal skills, for they will face with many unexpected situations requiring them to overcome the problems by themselves. Take financial issues as an example, individuals will know how to manage expenses and spend money wisely so that they do not get support from their relatives. Moreover, young adults who opt to live on their own can enjoy more freedom without being disturbed. For instance, a young single woman is given a myriad of options to do on the weekends, like going out with their friends, doing shopping or taking a short vacation instead of staying at home to look after their children if they get married. Moreover, compared to large families, it is easier for small family units spend time with each other and join family bonding activities such as shared dinners, picnics or talking. Therefore, individuals are more likely to have a pleasant life with their family as they feel a great sense of kinship and belonging. Finally, people in two-generation families will experience fewer conflicts. If they live in an extended family, especially with the older generation, receiving criticisms and being judged from the perspective of the elderly is inevitable. To illustrate, a teenager who often plays computer games to relax after finishing his homework will be considered addicted to gaming by elders. Instead, he is told to read some books. As a result, this can lead to quarrels among the members and develop mutual hatred. In conclusion, although these lifestyles still have some drawbacks, for example, people can suffer from loneliness and depression, living alone or living in small families still offer some great benefits to everyone.