schools should force children to learn a foreign language. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In recent decades, the question of whether or not children should be forced to learn a foreign language has become a topic of discussion. Although some argue that a foreign language should not be one of the compulsory subjects in schools, I still agree with those who believe that children should be forced to learn it. There are a number of benefits for children to learn a foreign language. It is clear that nowadays employers tend to place more emphasis on workers who have the ability to speak foreign languages. By studying a language like English in school, children would have more job opportunities in the future. In addition, in order to access information in another language, learning its language is imperative. For instance, a student from undeveloped countries like Viet Nam can study online courses in the US only if he knows English, therefore broadening his horizons. There are also a variety of advantages of forcing children to study a foreign language for society. First, more and more people have been living overseas, thanks to globalization. By having conversations with immigrants, local people can help those people more easily, which could inevitably be impossible if the locals did not learn the foreign languages in school. Second, in order to trade with other countries, governments need to hire individuals who can communicate with foreigners. Therefore, by making languages of developed countries, such as China and America, become main subjects in schools, there will be more people can speak more than one language, enormously contributing to the nation's economy. In conclusion, compelling schoolchildren to learn a foreign language benefits not only these students but also society at large. Schools should encourage their students to spend more time learning a new language.