The best way to ensure the growth of children is to make parents take parenting courses. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the parents’ most important responsibilities is perhaps taking good care of their offspring. It is believed that it should be compulsory for all mums and dads to take parenting courses so that they are better prepared for parenthood. While I accept that such classes are beneficial, I do not agree that they should be mandatory. On the one hand, parents would benefit a great deal from parenting classes. First, such courses provide mothers and fathers with in-depth knowledge about how to raise a kid at different developmental stages. Parents who decide to take parenting courses will have a better understanding of their children’s needs; hence, they can take the best care of them. Second, mums and dads in parenting classes are equipped with basic medical training to deal with emergency situations more effectively. For instance, first aid training teaches parents what to do if their child has a high fever or a breathing issue. Similarly, many parents have a great deal of trouble dealing with troublesome teenagers who are misbehaving while going through adolescence. Despite such benefits of taking part in parenting courses or workshops, I believe that they should not be compulsory. This is because many parents, especially those who struggle financially, have to work overtime, in the evenings or even at weekends, just to make ends meet. Forcing them to attend those classes would adversely affect their work and their lives. In addition, many people would argue that parenting is an innate skill that every mother and father can naturally access once they have a child. For example, many mothers instinctively know how to hold and care for their child as soon as it is born. Moreover, many people have their own ideas about what good parenting involves due to their own upbringing, and cultural influences. Therefore, I think that parents should be free to decide whether or not they want to participate in these courses instead of being forced to do so. In conclusion, in spite of some benefits that parenting classes offer, I believe that they should be optional rather than compulsory.