Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is often argued that allowing young people to choose whatever they want in day-to-day life might create a sense of individualism in societies. However, others believe that it is crucial for children to decide on everything that put influence on them. While the former notion has some potential drawbacks, I agree with the latter statement. On the one hand, some argue that children are naive and lack the sense of morally right or wrong, so permitting them on their own choice making is not justified at this tender age. It would tend to create an individualistic society where people would lack empathy and compassion towards others. Owing to unbridled actions of children in their young age would likely to offend not only their peers, but also their parents. In India, for instance, modern young girls prefer to wear fashionable short dresses, which offence most of the Indian parents, as it is not a part of their culture. On the other hand, I support those who consider that having their own decisions at an early age makes children ready for their adult life. To elaborate, this not only helps them to become independent, but also makes them understand the freedom of expression, both of which are important life skills. Moreover, it plays a significant role in shaping their personality and aids their intellectual development, thereby makes them mature to take life -decisions effectively such as choosing a right career. For example, most of the children who prefer gaming as a source of entertainment are usually interested to make their career in the animation sector. In conclusion, although allowing young ones to choose on their own on different things have some possible consequences, I believe that this help in their personal development.