Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while others believe that they cannot always expect job satisfaction and a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some make the pragmatic argument that in an uncertain job market, security ought to be valued over satisfaction. In my opinion, those with families cannot be reproached for this view, but it is generally more important to enjoy your job and spread goodwill. Workers with dependents rightly value a consistent and benefit over all other factors. If someone is just starting out in a labour of love such as becoming an artist, they may struggle initially to bring home enough money to make ends meet every month. They might not be able to send their children to good schools, live in a good neighbourhood, and keep everyone in the house reasonably well clothed and fed. Even if they can manage that, it will place incredible mental stress on not only them but also their spouse and children. Research has shown these deeply ingrained anxieties from childhood can persist throughout adulthood. It is nonetheless more important to pursue a career that is fulfilling. The vast majority of the world dislikes, their career and a large percentage of these people have difficulty reconciling their frustrations with their day-to-day temperament. An unhappy employee is more likely to be short with co-workers, complain to friends, and resent their family of the burden they must shoulder for their welfare. More of this person daily interactions will be negative and this adds up over years to create the greatest global repository of ill will. Free up the same person to enjoy their job and there is a strong chance they will suddenly brighten the days of those around them. In conclusion, fomenting good humour is more important and only in very rare family situations should an individual persists in a position for its stability. Many recognise this once it is too late and they already have an expensive lifestyle to maintain or their best working years are behind them.