In many countries, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

These years, it is preferable for city dwellers lead a solitary life or have a two-generation family than to live in an extended family. This trend has sparked heated debates about its benefits and drawbacks. However, I firmly believe that it has a positive impact on many aspects of people’s life. First of all, it is indisputable that living in a nuclear family can reduce the chances of conflicts between different generations, which is likely to occur in large families. Because of changes in attitudes towards family life, the elderly could hardly share the views of the following generations. For instance, in some eastern countries, it is thought that men are a bread-winner in a family while the duties of women are rearing children and doing household chores. Consequently, in an extended family, some old people may prevent wives from working and enjoying their lives. Furthermore, due to dissimilar personalities and preferences, the relatives in one house could possibly oppose each other, which may trigger mutual hatred. Secondly, having a solitary life has undeniably been the optimal choice for people in recent years. The first reason is that this lifestyle enables them to live with freedom as their decisions would barely influence others and vice versa. As an illustration, young people living on their own can attend parties or watch films until midnight without any complaints. Additionally, people tend to live alone to enjoy their lives and explore the world rather than be harassed by tedious housework. During the holidays, those can freely hang out with friends and experience new things without worries about their husbands or children. In conclusion, this trend is generally a positive one since it offers more individual space and prevents conflicts in families. I believe that this phenomenon will become more prevalent in the future.