SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE TEENAGERS SHOULD FOCUS ON ALL SUBJECTS EQUALLY, WHILE OTHERS THINK THAT THEY SHOULD CONCENTRATE ONLY THOSE SUBJECTS THAT THEY FIND INTERESTING

Our education system has evolved in the past few years. Teenagers go to school to gain knowledge on a variety of subjects. This idea is controversial and people opine differently. Some people say that students should have the freedom to study the subjects of their choice, whereas others say that equal attention to all the subjects is beneficial. In my opinion, teenagers should learn all the subjects and gain knowledge about each and every discipline in their curriculum. On one hand, high school curriculum is tailored to teach important subjects such as mathematics, science, English, history, and geography. These act as a foundation for future career applications. Not only are they designed to provide knowledge, but also allow the students to select the subjects that they might wish to take up for higher studies and career opportunities. Moreover, teenagers are not capable enough to make the best decision pertaining to one particular subject that they would want to study in the foreseeable future. For instance, a recent survey taken by an institute teacher shows that 89% of students were confused about their choice of career in their earlier age. On the other hand, if a student wishes to be selective, it might be beneficial as well. This would let him ensure undivided focus on his choice of subjects and help him build a sound foundation during the formative years. This would provide students with more time and resources to spend on comparatively lesser and more interesting subjects, leading to better results. According to me the option of studying all the subjects enables the students to keep their options open and possibly widen their range of interests. To conclude, I would say that it is best for them to study all the subjects and figure out a particular stream or subject at a later stage in life, preferably during higher studies.