Some people believe unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high schol programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that unpaid community service, for example, working for a charity, should be compulsory in high school. This is beneficial for high school students as they can learn teamwork and may have a sense of inspiration. Firstly, we all know that by assigning group tasks to the students is the way they learn teamwork. But, using real life situations will make students deeply understand how teamwork is. From my personal experience, I joined one of the community services with my classmates at one rural primary school. My duties were taking care of primary school students during breaks and taking photos. Before the service began, we had lots of meetings and preparations as we didn’t want anything to go wrong. During that time, no one was lazy and everyone was very hard-working. When the day came, the experience at school was great and we had no serious problem. This program has nurtured me to understand that if we are joining together to get things done, we will get things done. So, it is important for high school students to learn teamwork through real-life community service. Moreover, by visiting real communities, especially in the rural areas, high school students can feel the real problems instead of memorizing them from the textbooks. And this importance makes some universities encourage their students to organize community services. For example, the National University of Singapore has now partnered with various charities around the globe, sending its students to the rural areas, for instance, West Africa and Southeast Asia. Then, students help those communities through their works such as repairing houses and teaching English to villagers. After they come back to the university, not only experience which they brought, but also, ideas to create innovations to solve those problems they saw during their time in the community service, too. So, gaining ideas and inspirations is achievable through community services. In conclusion, teamwork and inspiration are results from involvement in social works. These benefit students to grow and become mature, responsible and inspired. Therefore, it is recommended for high schools to implement the compulsory community service.