People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life. What are those problems? Should the government encourage people to move to regional towns? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Residing in the metropolitan towns have posed some issues in people's daily lives. These problems are largely caused by lack of security, high rate of pollution and traffic gridlocks. However, I believe the policy makers should assist people in relocating to the countryside. Firstly, a major problem experienced by individuals in cities is that of security, everyone is concerned about how secure their lives and properties are as they should be. The sites are large and the population gives room for all kinds of vices and theft. For example, where I live in the lake area of Lagos State, Nigeria, we have experienced more robberies and burglary cases, than in the past. This is evident because more families have moved into the area. Another problem is the traffic gridlocks because of lack of adequate transportation system. In Lagos State, most people drive their cars and this causes a lot of traffic congestion on the road. Secondly, there is a high rate of pollution, which is caused by inadequate waste management systems and flooding issues. In the past, there were effective waste disposal systems. However, these days, that is no longer the case and it causes blocked drainages and waterways. Two years ago, for instance, there was serious flooding in the Island area of Lagos State, Nigeria, which destroyed a lot of homes and properties. The government should help people in moving to the countryside by providing basic amenities and infrastructures to encourage them. Another way the government can help them is by providing job or investment opportunities. This will reduce the problems encountered by people in cities. In conclusion, irrespective of the menace encountered by citizens, this can be controlled if the government, in partnership with the public joins hands together and implement sound strategies to encourage people to move to the regional towns.