In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

These days when people get old, they go to old age homes and stay with other inmates. Some people think that it is the responsibility of the government to take care of these expenses. Whereas others think that the family should bear the cost. I completely agree that it is the responsibility of the relatives to pay for the expenses of their old people. Firstly, it is not good for the finances of a country to cover the expenses of all older people in the retirement homes. People who grow old without much savings put enormous strain on a country's economy. For instance, if the government spends too much on these expenses, it would not able to allocate adequate money for essential areas like education and health care. Moreover, not budgeting for basic needs will cause detrimental effects on society and the well being of its citizens. Secondly, it should be the duty of the immediate family members to care for their loved ones. As responsible parents, people spend their money and energy to raise their children with lots of love and affection. Their children should reciprocate their affection by tending their parents when they grow old. This is a norm in many cultures. For example, in Japanese society, though the population of old age people is huge and they are still taking care of by their children. To conclude, the onus is on the children taking care of their respective parents when they get old. It is their moral obligation. The government, on the other hand, might consider subsidizing the cost, to ease the burden of the children, but seldom bear the full expenses.