In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

The bankruptcy of numerous small stores in town is occurring in some nations because people are likely to drive to bigger malls outside the town. Therefore, this development creates difficulty for people without cars to do shopping and encourages the number of cars being used. However, I still believe that this trend will bring about more pros than cons. First of all, It is obvious that the larger the mall is, the more products are sold. Specifically, large stores will cooperate with lots of entrepreneurs and companies in different areas from local to international ones. As a result, these stores can import a vast number as well as a variety of goods to serve their customers from toys, clothes, foods and so on, so the public will be presented with more choices to buy than in smaller ones. Moreover, commercial centres in the suburbs are now like a destination for a family bonding activity. For example, they incorporate some amenities that meet the needs for entertainment of individuals. Some will have restaurants for everyone to enjoy meals with their loved ones or playgrounds for children to play while their parents go shopping. Hence, people come to these places just like a trip for their family to escape from the daily pressure and spend more time together. Besides purchasing for things, relatives can share the love and joy that they rarely do in their hectic life. Furthermore, the increasing use of cars may not be a disturbing sign. In fact, it can bring some advantages. Since everybody is beginning to own more cars now, it reflects that the living standards of citizens have raised. For instance, after working hard and earning money, people want to possess a car to take their family members on a trip for recreational activities and let go of their responsibilities. Finally, the rate of using cars to travel out of town also contributes to the reduction of traffic congestion. In small towns, especially on weekends, families tend to go out and enjoy some downtime with each other. This can lead to traffic jams on roads and shops can get overcrowded, thus having a car is a great idea for people to visit more peaceful outside areas and have some happy time with their members. To sum up, the phenomenon of driving outwards to large out-of-town stores offers some great benefits to everybody and the increase in the use of cars also seems to show some positives for the life of them.