Some people say that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing are more beneficial to children and therefore they need more of these subjects to be included in the timetable. Do you agree or disagree?

The arts have little or no place in the educational curriculum so far because we have a feeling that the time spent on these things is time wasted. Recent studies, however, have shown that a good syllabus that includes arts education can have multiple benefits which I shall highlight in this essay. The most important benefit of the arts in schools is that it contributes to making a well-rounded student. Not only that, certain forms of arts instruction enhance and complement academic skills such as basic reading skills, language development, and writing skills, so children do well in other subjects also. Another big advantage is that it encourages the pursuit of extra-curricular activities. Children get a chance to show their creative expression. When such hidden abilities are exposed in school time then conjunction used in comparatives than those with exceptional talent can be encouraged to adopt it as a profession later on in life. It is a well-known fact that people in such professions are earning telephone figure salaries nowadays. Last but not least, such subjects are stress-busters. In the highly competitive era of today, the pressure of academic subjects is too high. Arts like music, drama and creative writing break the monotony of tough academic studies. In conclusion, I believe that our educational program needs a serious revision and more of such subjects need to be added to the school curriculum. They complement academic study, bring out hidden talents and break the ennui of tough academic studies.