Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The advent of sophisticated modern technology has plagued civilization since the beginning of its invention. Whereas some societies strongly disagree that mobile phones, laptops and PCs have helped to improve people social lives, others believe the opposite has become the case. Personally, I strongly advocate the latter view. The following essay will cover European approaches using real world examples to support arguments. Multifold advantages of technological developments cannot be denied. There are also tremendous benefits for levelling the playing field. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University illustrated that people who work, or study abroad and use applications like Facetime and WhatsApp to chat with their families, less likely to experience loneliness and feel out of the loop than those who do not. Secondly, evidence of daily life shows that laying the responsibility on schools and organizations to limit screen time is clearly an erroneous policy. In most humanitarian governmental bodies, scientific reports have proved that people who spent hours online on their phone or computer unconsciously are more prone to depression and social anxiety. However, the same study shows that children whose screen time was limited by parents up to two to three hours usually have higher IQ than their peers. Therefore, although it is undoubtedly contentious, parents should be more diligent to what content their children consume and try to control how many hours they spent in front of the PC. To conclude, it is clear when the people limit their screen time, albeit under duress they stand to benefit. Furthermore, when users utilize the technology to organise social events the overall communication has a multiplier effect, therefore both actions should be strongly encouraged.