More and more people and organizations are using digital technology for contact with other people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using digital technology for communication?

Although people believe that the invention of digital technology has provided multiple benefits, such as contacting people has become a way too easier as compared to the past, it has negatively affected the younger generation because children are highly dependent on electronic devices even when they want to meet someone. The prime reason why digital automation is considered as the biggest invention of human beings is that devices like phones are providing much better and convenient services to contact that a letter cannot. Around two decades ago, there were very few ways to make a long-distance conversation and people usually had used letters to stay in contact that must have been a big barrier for long-distance relationships, whereas a digital gadget today can connect people from anywhere. So, digital machinery today has opened numerous possible ways to contact and strengthen the bond between people. However, the negative side of digital devices cannot be ignored because today the use of electronics has reduced face-to-face interactions. This is because smartphones have numerous applications, such as Skype and WhatsApp, which can be used to call and text anyone without meeting in-person. These features are certainly impacting children who do not get to learn communication skills during their growing age. For instance, a survey by National Union stated that 45% of people do hesitate and feel awkward when they visit their relatives because, with the lack of communication skills, they do not understand how to start a conversation. In conclusion, although the use of electronic gadgets can bring people together by just one phone call, it can also hinder the face-to-face communication skills.