Some people say that television is a very useful tool when it comes to education. Others argue that television is a much overused, ineffective teacher. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion as to the usefulness of television as an educational tool.

Television has become a major part of almost everyone’s daily life either as an entertainer or as an educator. While some people opine that it is only an amusement tool, others argue that it also imparts knowledge like a tutor. In my essay, I would discuss both viewpoints before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, the majority of contemporary telecasts are either looped programs or reality shows which attract children only for their recreational value. These telecasts deprive them from active learning while making them addicted and lethargic. For example, cartoons keep children entertained with audio-visual effects, leaving them physically inactive without any informative material. Similarly, networks which are meant for conveying news to people, are being used as tools for political propaganda. With the broadcast being one-sided, it gives people further misinformation rather than educating them. On the other hand, with the evolution of the small screen, children are able to learn from interactive programmes. Nowadays, kids enjoy programmes which are similar to the schoolroom, but with a twist of entertainment. They learn and imbibe faster when it is visually appealing. For example, Discovery-kids, which telecasts science experiments, helps youngsters to understand the subject better than the theoretical instruction. Likewise, wildlife programs expose people to fauna across the globe. Not only do people learn from these programmes, but are given a virtual tour of the world through the eyes of the photographers and explorers. In conclusion, the Television is educating as well as entertaining, it is the viewers who decide its effectiveness with the content choice. Therefore, adults should monitor and encourage their offspring to watch knowledgeable programs, so that, they can reap from the benefits rather than squander their valuable time before the entertainment box.