The reason that most people are in debt is the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks ought to do a background check and only issue credit cards to individuals who have the ability to pay back their debts. What is your opinion?

I agree that overindulgence of the plastic money has been one of the major reasons why people tend to accumulate liability. Banks should resolve to sanction credit cards only after ascertaining an individual’s financial capability and his history of settling liabilities. My essay would discuss the reasons behind people’s overuse of credit cards and steps to be taken by the Banks to regulate the same. Firstly, individuals tend to overspend via credit cards because it doesn’t impact their bank balance. Psychologically, one examines his bank balance for his liquidity, but fails to consider his mounting bills. Secondly, people assume that future profits would pay-off the final payment of a debt payoff their current bills. Future promises of extra income make people go overboard while using plastic money. The credit period feature plays a major a role here. For example, I spend Rs.10,000/- today, assuming I get bonus before my due date of payment which is 45 days later. Meanwhile, I believe certain checks by the banks before issuing cards would establish user’s capability. Firstly, they have to scrutinize his financial history. If he has a record of being a defaulter, it would be an indication of his tendency to dodge dues and his pecuniary instability. Secondly, the Banks should investigate the source of income. In the absence of steady flow, it would establish his inability to settle bills. For example, if the bank learns that the only source of income is from winning lottery, his future ability to repay dues becomes debatable. In conclusion, certain precautionary measures undertaken by banks would surely control the dangerous tendency using credit cards indiscriminately. Also, individuals should be educated about the drawbacks of plastic money before procuring it.