A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a widely held perception that the measurement of personal achievement has shifted over the years. The conventional value such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer held important weight in our culture. Some believe that financial status is the core factor in judging one’s worth. I personally hold the opposite view, and my reasons are twofold. First of all, there is a growing tendency in our culture that value materials gain a great deal. However, there is no shortage of examples that indicate many wealthy public figures have dysfunctional families. Such phenomenon reflects that material possession plays an insignificant role in one’s family life. Some would argue that the most fundamental measurement to one’s achievement is their relationship with their family, in which honesty and loyalty are required instead of money. Secondly, culture as a whole is constantly promoting ill-advised images of celebrities and their expensive cars and mansions which reinforced such twisted value that financial gain is the ultimate goal of one’s life. However, during times of crises and adversity, citizens often seek help from doctors, teachers and soldiers, which many are under-paid or paid an average amount of salaries. It is clear that their value to society is crucial, yet immeasurable by money. In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that it is vital to promote the traditional value in our society. Although it is inevitable that money and material possessions have become increasing important to our daily life, honour, kindness and trust are still the fundamental codes of conduct, which are ensuring the prosperity of our society.