Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, more and more people, especially young ones, are keen on playing video games. These games can be both educational and entertaining; however, there are also some disadvantages while playing them. In my opinion, the video games’ bad effects definitely outweigh the benefits. Playing games are considered as fun to play and to learn. Providing that some of them are virtual environments that simulate real-life experiences, players jump into that virtual world and enjoy more instead the real pastimes. From an educational perspective, games help people learn new skills easier and understandable because imagination and creativity are boosted. Motor’s skill, concentration, logical thinking and problem solving can be easily absorbed into the child’s mind. Such games like Minecraft motivates players to be creative to build structures and machines in a complex yet interesting mechanic. Knowing that playing games is exciting and educational, I believe that it is more harmful. Objective missions and scoring makes that game more competitive than ever, and players have to keep them up by playing more, makes them more addictive. Games addictions make children from spending less time on assignments to being lack of sleep for schools’ activities. Also, the rise of obesity can be included as the sedentary lifestyle developed in terms of using computers for too long. To sum up, I believe that playing video games is fun and easy to learn; however, it is affected to human’s mental and physical health.