In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Public transport is a very essential medium and had become an important part in every common man's life, and is becoming a good solution to avoid environmental issues. While, many think that the Government should spend large sum of money in constructing new railway lines for running super fast trains between cities. I personally think that the capital should be spent on improving existing public commute. This essay will discuss this scenario, along with examples from Oxford university study and Time magazine survey to demonstrate the points and support the claims. On the one hand, people in a number of countries feel tired of long journeys, they don't want to spend more time in their travel, and reduce it. Therefore, they want to commute fast between cities, and hence they foresee that their Government should construct new rail lines. For example, Oxford university in 2015 researched that 60% of the total population in the UK prefer to fly rather than drive, to travel faster. So from this example, it is clear that people dislike spending time sitting idle for long duration. On the other hand, some people contradict this thinking, by saying that, make existing structure firm. Additionally, they want to get to their present local conveyance a stable one, and secure as well. Moreover, adding new infrastructure incurs more cost, land and other resources. Similarly, a survey done by Time magazine in 2018 reveals that almost 80% of the US population expressed interest in enhancing this pre-existing commute system. So, from this example, it is clear that the public prefers to stay secured rather than experience comforts. To conclude, public transportation helps reducing global warming, and any money spent by the Government comes from the taxes paid by people. Hence, this should be spent in a meaningful way, should be helpful, and beneficial to them. Finally, the respective officials should stabilize the existing arrangement before stepping into a new system.