Nowadays, people are spending more time away from their homes because they spend longer in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

These days, many people strive to work more than normal hours. This trend brings both positive and negative consequences for individuals. People who tend to spend more hours at their working places find it rewarding for several reasons. The first reason why some people work more than others is that they want to achieve more. They feel competition in their work and this makes them work more. Another reason is that extended working hours could be beneficial in a financial term and can lead to promotion. Employers are usually willing to pay more a worker who wants to go beyond a normal working day. This can also refer to a job ladder. On the other hand, working more than normal hours can lead to some negative aspects. With more work, people usually get more stress. They do not always manage time properly and have less time to relax, which consequently can be damaging to health. For example, when I was promoted several years ago I tried to show my dedication to the company working long hours, even on weekends. As a result of constant work after a few months later, I started noticing sleep impairment and other health disorders. In addition, people spend less time with their families which can be detrimental to family relationships. In conclusion, spending longer hours can be beneficial it terms as career development and getting additional income, however, it can also lead to deterioration of health and family relationships. These damaging consequences can be avoided with the properly managed time and relaxation.