Food travels thousands of miles from producers to customers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. Advantages and disadvantages.

Food travels miles to be given to the takers from the makers. But many people believe it will be for the betterment of the nature and to help improve the financial status of a region if people ate local products. In my essay, I will explain the pros and cons of the same. Firstly, I will explain the advantages of eating local food. It is evident that most people prefer eating food which is locally produced. It is called the staple food.The main advantage would be its cost. The farmers producing it will be able to sell it directly to the end customers than to the brokers in between.Eventually, it will be beneficial to both the producer and consumer, as the broker money will not come into the picture. For example: In the coastal areas people eat more of rice and fish because it is readily available and the items are fresh. Moreover, since the eateries are locally supplied it will not involve much transportation charges and that will also help to keep the pollution under level. Secondly, I believe any concept or theory comes with its disadvantages. There are many places in this world where the soil is not fertile enough for cultivation. It is difficult for the farmers to grow crops there. For example: The desert areas are mostly covered by sand. It is impossible to find any land suitable for agriculture. All they can grow are Dates, but that alone cannot suffice. Trading in literal terms means exchanging items which you have for the one's you don't have. Every country is rich is some or the other resource but lacks in some other. By only using the local products and not trading items the government cannot fulfil all the needs of the countrymen. For example: Countries like UAE or Kuwait are rich in oil resource, but have barren lands to produce crops. In such situations, it becomes necessary for them to trade oil for eatable items. In conclusion, I would say that it might sound feasible and simple to be satisfied with whatever we have, but in order to cater the never ending needs of mankind, it is necessary to walk that extra mile and trade or else it will become difficult to survive.