In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development?

The foremost priority of any human being is to fulfil his basic needs, but in affluent nations people tend to take things for granted, and start buying things which they don’t even require. It is very common among nations where people don’t value life and money. In my opinion, it’s a negative progression that we are seeing where people living in developed countries are considering shopping as a means of entertaining themselves. Among the various ill effects of, buying items just for the sake of amusement, is the wastage of precious occasion of ours, which we could put into something constructive that could later on can help us getting a good job. Think of the moment, which we are spending unnecessarily in malls and departmental stores: valuable moment can be utilized to develop a skill which would be helpful for our future as playing chess would help our critical thinking and make us better strategist. Along with the waste of occasion, we are losing our hard-earned money, which can be expended on essential items, or save it as savings for future needs. Indeed, we must take drastic measures and should start thinking about what we are doing with our wealth and day. One of the biggest misconceptions of people is the ability to differentiate between essential goods and non-essential goods. It is because of it, which has resulted in people indulging in activities as spending their precious money on equipment which they don’t even need. The people in the wealthiest nation need to realize the demerits of shopping without a purpose, and how they are causing trouble to themselves as well as people living in poor nations. As people housing in poor nations, more than often tend to have shortages of even the essential goods in their nation as people in more advanced countries have unnecessarily bought those items. To sum up, we must realize that we are behaving irresponsible by treating shopping as a means of entertainment. The behaviour is very childish and is taking our society in very bad directions, which could have catastrophic consequence in the future.