Every government has a duty to provide free health care for its people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of government providing free healthcare?

There has been much debate regarding the free healthcare provided by the government for every of its citizens. Although this subsidy has brought about numerous merits, its drawbacks are unavoidable. On one hand, the government providing health services free-of-charge is beneficial in several ways. Firstly, medical services and treatments are quite expensive, thus the authorities have to intervene and make the health care affordable for all, especially poor citizens. Another benefit is that this will improve the overall health condition of all the people. For example, unless vaccines are given to the majority of children, infectious diseases will not be prevented effectively. On the other hand, free health care is not without negative effects. One serious consequence of this is that public hospitals are often overloaded with patients, which stresses the medical staffs and, in turn, decreases the quality of the service. A further drawback is that there is a great possibility of governmental corruption that would drain a large amount of the budget for national health care. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that zero-cost health services have both positive and negative impacts on society. It is strongly recommended that the government supervise the system closely to minimise the disadvantages, while introducing new laws and policies to develop the public health care services.