In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

Thanks to the technological and scientific advancements, people's lives have become significantly progressed, particularly in improving human health with the most modern applications and effective treatments. It is inevitable that the remarkable increase in life expectancy has been a phenomenon in many countries as well as impacted both positively and negatively on their societies. On the other hand, older people are more experienced and can contribute largely by counselling the young generation. There are some professions like teaching where an experienced teacher can be more benevolent than a young teacher. Again, older people are the witness of the history and they can reveal the past to us more practical than others. Finally, since young members of a family are busy outside and cannot manage time to share with kids, so the older people can be good companions to those kids and can help them to raise in a family environment rather than in a day-care- centre. On the contrary, in some society older people are considered to be burdened, especially in those areas where people suffer from extreme poverty. Older people require more attention and extra care and the touch of relatives. But because of the generation gap and poverty, they are often ignored and that's a horrible experience for them. Moreover, the more people retire, the heavier pension burden the state has to carry, instead of that budget allocated into youth education. In conclusion, the constant proliferation in the ageing population has been obviously creating both benefits and burdens to their societies. Therefore, the government in every country should implement aging-friendly policies and efficient programs so as to mitigate this issue's negative influence and still progress people's standards of living.