The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true the use of cell phones has gained in popularity over the past few decades, making a paradigm shift in the lifestyle of every human on Earth. Although some might suggest banning mobile phones like cigarettes due to their presumably antisocial effects, the suggestion is groundless and should not be implemented. There are a number of reasons why mobile phones are not as antisocial as smoking. First, people, rather than mobile phones, are the factor that ultimately decides whether or not to engage in antisocial behaviours. In fact, there are plenty of mobile phone users who are even more prosocial than non-users, suggesting an insignificant causal relationship between mobile phones and antisocial behaviours. Second, mobile phones should not be compared to smoking as they are two distinct products. While cigarettes use chemical compounds to directly influence smokers’ brain, mobile phones have nothing to do with these chemicals. Another compelling reason to not ban mobile phones is that they are necessary to daily life. First, using mobile phones is one of the most efficient and inexpensive ways to communicate with others. Before the appearance of mobile phones, delivering a message from one location to another would require physical travels, costing unnecessary time, effort and money. In addition, mobile phones have functions that enable users to keep contacts, thereby promoting social behaviour and strengthening social connections. For example, people are more likely to lose important contacts and might even forget one another if they do not use mobile phones. In conclusion, since mobile phones have nothing to do with antisocial effects and smoking, they should not be banned. If any, the net advantage of using mobile phones is still too high to consider banning.