Fast-food restaurants are becoming more popular than ever all over the world. What are the possible causes and effects of this phenomenon

Nowadays, many fast- food restaurants have appeared in the malls and strategic places all over the world. Even Vietnamese people, who used to prefer home-made items, tend to eat fast food more often. There are several causes and effects of this phenomenon. The first cause of the popularity of fast- food restaurants is convenience. Recently in almost every family, both husband and wife have a full-time job. Thereby, they literally have no time to cook at home for their children. Seizing the occasion, many international branded restaurants such as KFC, Lotteria and McDonald give parents a perfect solution for that problem, which is tasty foods with free delivery. They do not need to spend hours in the kitchen and their children still have something to eat. Secondly, it seems like eating outside fascinates more and more young people. It is understandable because the food is quite cheap and they even have a variety of choices. Moreover, some restaurants now have aesthetic and fashionable areas so that the youth can take photos and upload them on social media. The rapid increase in fast- food restaurants has changed the way Vietnamese people eat. In the past, people considered pizza or burgers as luxurious foods since people did not get used to the appearance of fast- food restaurants on the street. However, in the modern life, some families now present a plate full of fried chickens instead of sticky rice to the family altar on the full-moon day. Besides its popularity, fast food restaurants can make the world unhealthy. Many studies have shown that fast food contains calories from refined sugar and fats. It also has harmful chemicals that will take the foods longer to be rotten. These are the main reasons why consuming too much fast food can lead to obesity, heart disease, and even cancer. In conclusion, the popularity of fast- food restaurants is somewhat caused by people ’s new lifestyle. This phenomenon might bring good changes but the negative effects on human health are undeniable. If people want to reduce health risks in the future, eating more fresh vegetables and less fast food is necessary.