Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is undoubted that environmental pollution has become one of the main concerns worldwide and without appropriate strategies to stop it, our unique planet will suffer irreversible damages. Therefore, some people claim that politicians should be totally responsible for the environmental protection rather than individuals because individuals contribute too little effort to protect our habitat. However, I totally disagree with them and advocate that ordinary inhabitants play a crucial role in it. To begin with, firstly, it is obvious that politicians are the ones making strategies to reduce environmental pollution worldwide. However, it is individuals in communities to carry out them under the command or instruction of different governments. Without people's cooperation and obedience, politicians may not be able to obtain the efficacy. For example, in some metropolitans, such as Beijing, in order to reduce exhaust gases emitted from vehicles on roads, one traffic rule adopted by the local government requires citizens to drive their cars to work by turn. In order to carry out this policy, local car owners have to work hard to obey it individually. If all car owners refuse to follow it, the policy will be in vain. In addition, people play a significant role in battling environment issues. It is true that the effort of one individual sometimes is extremely little; however, it will turn into a huge one once millions of individuals work together. For example, recycling daily waste materials, such as paper or bottles, will help to protect our planet. Its efficacy will be obvious only when millions of individuals are willing to participate in recycling. If nobody or only a small portion of the inhabitants are willing to dump their daily wastes in proper groups, the strategy of recycling won't work. Therefore, the effort of an individual should not be ignored. In conclusion, politicians definitely play a crucial role in making strategies to protect the Earth; however, the effort brought by a person should not be underestimated due to his or her essential role as a unit to carry out any policy. Due to the above reasons, I of me or myself my personal advocate that individuals are also capable to contribute to environmental protection.