These days, some schools do not have enough money to pay for all the programs that they think are necessary for their students. As a result, some schools are considering allowing advertisements in their buildings. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not?

Nowadays, some schools cannot finance all the programs they wish to. As a consequence, they are evaluating to allow publicity in their dependencies. Personally, I think it is not a good idea in general. Firstly, we should assume that the advertisement will try to attract kids. If we look at the biggest companies doing so, we will see that their products are highly processed and, therefore, harmful to kids' health. This is exactly opposite to the mission of an institution: to pursue the well being of its students. Secondly, the sponsor will create a fake "need" of the advertised product on the kids. The kids will demand their wishes and will get frustrated if the family has not the money to buy the product. Thirdly, the negotiation power of the institute will decrease with rising levels of funds granted. Therefore, the institution dependence of this money will have an increase. In other words, companies will have the power to make decisions against the interests of the school. In conclusion, there are more cons than pros for the institutions in getting funds from advertisement.