Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that volunteering should be included in the school curriculum. This essay strongly advocates this viewpoint because of the benefits it brings to pupils. The essay will first look at how voluntary work can support students in developing soft skills, followed by an analysis that how these extracurricular activities are valued by universities and employers. Education undoubtedly should not be limited only to strictly academic pursuits, but it should also provide equal opportunities in flourishing life skills, such as teamwork, empathy and self-discipline, and one of the best ways to hone these aptitudes is through community service. Furthermore, relieving those less fortunate than ourselves teaches us many lessons including coordinating with people from other backgrounds and knowing the exact value of hard-work. For example, I personally volunteered to spend 6 weeks in Africa teaching disadvantaged children, which led to considerable increase in my moral when I returned to my studies. Many colleges and companies are also increasingly looking for such type of experience. When most school leavers have the same grades, charitable works can help set you apart from the herd. For example, Cambridge and Oxford receive thousands of applications from straight-A students every year throughout the globe and can only accept a small percentage of applicants. What you have done something valuable outside the classroom, is often the thing that differentiates you from everyone else and gets you that coveted spot. In conclusion, teenagers ought to partake in gratuitous job during their school-life, as it will be beneficial for them in learning things that they would never ordinarily learn from their teachers, and it will boost their chances of getting into third level education.