In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Video recorders become a part of our daily routine in the modern society. We can notice them everywhere; in the streets, the schools, and even at the work. Yet the obligatory question is that if they actually can improve our lives or they are an invisible tool to hesitate our community. Regardless of the possible benefits of the video cameras, their negative effects are a crucial concern. One of the most obvious disadvantages is that how they decrease the individual's private space. To illustrate, anyone could record a video others without their permission, even more, this person could go further and post this video on the social media. Undoubtedly, this behaviour, not only, destroys the personal limits, but also, could lead to a scandal for some of the people. The worst is that sometimes the video cameras become a dysfunctional tool. For example, while the utilization of them should be a benefit to detect crime and criminals, a considerable amount of the society members holds their video camera to record a crime, ignoring the fact that they help to stop the crime is more valuable than the documentation the crime! On the contrary, the supports of the use of the video cameras refuse all these claims, illustrating that the misuse of them can not let us to ignore their several advantages. For example, using them enables people to record and save their special moments and memories. Besides that, they are a strong, substantial tool in the hand of policemen to achieve the justice. In conclusion, the video recorders have two sides of benefits and disadvantages. In my opinion, their negative effects outweigh their merits. Moreover, if we seek to a healthy, balanced community, we need serious procedures to restrict their unfavourable side of the program recorders.