Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree?

With the advent of urbanization, the food products have dramatically influenced by international cuisines. Countries export their exotic fruits to different parts of the world. However, some people opine that it would be beneficial for a country's economy and environment if the individual start consuming their local food products instead of imported ones, and I completely agree to this idea. As most of these edible items are perishable, they are transported via aeroplanes, ships or roadways. Owing to the carbon footprints emitted by the fuel burned by these vehicles, air pollution is increasing worldwide. If these transportations could be limited and people start using items produced by local farmers, air quality could be improved and environment can be preserved. For instance, most of the small villages in India enjoy fresh and pollution free atmosphere because less transportation is done there, as most people use locally grown products. If we use locally grown products, our country could become self-sufficient and we do not need to depend on other countries for various products. Additionally, this procedure can also help the local farmers to grow and they do not need to depend on any external customers for selling their products. For example, Isreal is one such country that supports their farmers to grow the needed products so that they do not have to depend on other countries for exporting any kind of fruit or vegetable. Consequently, they have grown as a country with a strong economy and other national are learning from their practices. In conclusion, it is better to use locally produced products rather than depending on external sources for exporting it because it can help grow economically and improve environmental conditions.