Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

With the advent of technology such as the internet in the 20th century, it has opened up numerous horizons for research. The financial support for these upcoming developments is being done by the two major groups, namely, the public authorities or private organizations. Some of the critics assert that to proliferate the scientific analysis, the funding should be done by both private and public authorities, however, I strongly agree that to foster such delicate work the money should be provided by the governments only, because, these inventions in some way are connected with the security of mankind. Firstly, the most prominent reason is that nowadays, any analysis done is related to aspects such as medical, defense (military) military action or resources protecting a country against potential enemies defence, so the outcome of these researches should be beneficial to society. In other words, the private companies can keep secrets on the real outcomes, so that they can modulate the results to generate more money and to satiate their private vested interests. Ranbaxy a medical firm, for instance, has developed medicine for dengue, which is a deadly disease, they price it on their own and local bodies cannot control them. Moreover, if the government does not provide any financial support for the advanced studies in labs, then the secrets related to top projects can be leaked to the other countries and this can jeopardize the nation's security. Secondly, one of the obvious reasons is that unlike the individual firms, the government can provide the enormous funds required for the most accurate results. The scientific studies require patience and time, as the outcome of an experiment can be a failure as well, so it is the union that can provide plentiful funds to continue the work. The ISRO, for example, a space agency in India is funded by the government of India, the failed missions will generate huge losses, only the public authorities can bear. Furthermore, if private companies think that their research team is not giving time-bound outcome they will stop the lab tasks. But on the other hand, even if failed, the scientists are being backed by the government, consequently, they work with more zeal and energy to deliver successful results. To conclude, the financial backing of the governments can provide job security to an individual and social security to the nation. It is imperative considering the safety interest of a country, the roles of a private company should be limited in crucial researches.