Nowadays children play computer games for long hours. They do not play old traditional games. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think it influences children in a good or bad way?

Technology is influencing all the areas of life and entertainment is not an exception. Today's children are always found busy playing games on computers, which is not a very positive development. There are certain factors that prompt children to play these games. First, computer games are rich in graphics and have excellent background music. Thus, they are visually more appealing and more entertaining as well. Secondly, the lifelike graphical presentation on screen helps children in having a real life feeling when they play games. Finally, most parents nowadays are working and thus, they avoid sending their children to playgrounds because they think children are not safe if they spend too much time away from home. Therefor, parents keep motivating their children to engage in some gaming activities at home. This development affects the physical and mental health of children.Let's consider the health problems first. Children spend too much time sitting at the gaming console. This can create potential problems in their back muscles and eyes. Furthermore, most children also eat junk food while playing games and their eating patterns become erratic and they often become victims of indigestion. In a consequence, this can lead to problems of obesity and over-weight. In addition, now lets analyse mental implications. Playing computer games over a long period of time hinders psychological development of children. What is more, some games may contain explicit or violent content which can cause psychotic disorders in their tender times. Finally, playing a game alone also inhibits social interaction, which can result in lack of relevant skills in them. Conclusively, even though, the condition often obliges parents to permit their children to play games on screen. I firmly believe that excessive exposure to computer games is indeed harmful for children.