People use social media to keep in touch with friends and news. Advantages and disadvantages?

Many studies have shown that the number of people who are using social media to interact with friends and to get news has increased recent times. The development of the Internet also social media brings huge benefits for humans. On the other hand, it has some disadvantages. There are two central reasons why social media is a great invention of humans. Initially, it is a wonderful tool for people to contact with the world. People can find out everything, although they are staying at home. For example, instead of paying a huge money to visit the United States, people can see the beauty of some well – known places in this country such as Harvard University, The Walk of Fame and The Statue of Liberty through their computer’s screen. In addition, they can know about not only national news but also international news. It is too easy to find out world politics, although they are living in their country. Secondly, thanks to social network, which are Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, people can connect with their friends and relatives without long distance. Moreover, they also have a chance of making friends with foreigners then improving English and learning about another new culture. Undoubtedly, social media have limited distance between people and made them together. In spite of some advantages, the existence of social media has two main disadvantages. Firstly, people are using this tool to bully. They just need a laptop or a smart phone to victimize a person they feel hatred. Other people recognized is at their pleasure. In contrast, many people, especially super stars are victims of cyber bullying. It is not too easy to escape it and they often choose death to solve this serious problem. For example, Sully – a well – known singer chose to commit suicide because of cyber bullying. The mentioned accident has proved the danger of social media to the people. In the second place, the existence of unofficial online news has a detrimental effect on people’s life. Some users are taking advantages of social media to approach untrue information. It often makes people worried and it can lead to a country’s politics. In conclusion, social media has triggered far – reaching changes in many aspects of our daily lives, especially ranging from national communications to world communications network. Otherwise, the Internet still exists disadvantages. To solve it, people need to become intelligent users, think deeply and recognize social media as a relax tool.