University students often focus on one subject. However some people think that universities should encourage a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, we are living in the era when college student generally focuses on a specific subject. Some people believe that proponent class also essential to learn. While I admit to a certain extent that learn various subjects also beneficial, I believe that focus on one particular class helps to attain specialization and expertise in that particular stream. Firstly, it cannot be denied that focus on a particular subject would help the individuals to attain perfection in that. This happens because students will invest most of their time to studying and reading the relevant material. As a result, they will gain deeper erudition or understanding of that teaching. For example, the majority of the students admitted to an engineering college turn out to be engineers, scientists or researchers. Furthermore, focusing entirely on a single major eliminates the chance of distraction among the students, which is more likely to happen in case wider choice are available to them. To illustrate, as an educator, I feel that some students do not possess vivid mindset when they applied for admission to colleges. Hence, if they have only a limited choice of subjects it does not create confusion in their minds about what major they will take in. On the other hand, if university students learn heaps of subjects, they will have a decent understanding of a variety of classes. This is useful for them who do not have clear vision about their dream job. Moreover, it also can help them to solve problems from different aspects. For instance, as an engineer, one of my friends think that it is quite essential to be mastered in social science, especially public speaking and physiology. Although we are masters in various aspects, it is unimportant if a person wants to be a doctor or a lawyer, they need in-depth understanding of those subjects and it is not ideal for them to learn several subjects at school. For example, a student aspiring to be an engineer does not have to learn geography or history. Therefore, it is better for students focusing on our specialization In conclusion, though pursuing multiple subjects at university enables students to have a broad understanding of all of those subjects, in my opinion, it is crucial for them to focus on the main subject to make them have in depth knowledge and expertise.