Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. Task: what are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

Playing too much computer games appears to worry many doctors.Below, this essay will explain that improvement of problem-solving skills is the biggest advantage of this and the risk of addiction is the primary drawback. The main advantage associated with this phenomenon is possible cognitive development such as the development of problem-solving abilities.To be more explicit, video games involve certain rules, meaning that players have to think carefully before making any move to ensure that they stay within the required rules of that particular game. For example, recent research has indicated that playing computer games improves general problem-solving skills and may even result in higher academic grades. Despite this advantage, the major disadvantage seems to be the risk of addiction.To be more lucid, children become obsessed with the games and are unable to socialize with family and peers.As a consequence, this undermines their interpersonal skills and makes them unde rperform bot h academically and socially. For instance, World Health Organization in the International Classification of Diseases 2018 included gaming addiction as a mental disorder. In conclusion, the disadvantage of excessive gaming is connected to the possibility of dependency on the activity and mental benefits such as enhanced problem-solving ability is the advantage of this.