It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that there is an increase in the level of senior people in many nations. It is undeniable that this trend has some benefits and drawbacks, I personally believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, it is clear that there are some plus points derived from a high percentage of older people in a nation. The first benefit is that having a huge number of senior people provide a better labor a social class comprising those who do manual labor or work for wages labour market, companies can easily employ suitable candidates for different positions, which enhances efficiency at the workplace. As a result, this might boost the nation’s economy. The second plus point is that the nation having a higher rate of older residents usually has a quite low birthrate. This helps the older people to save both their time and money that would be spent on their children. Therefore, they can spend that money on other services and improve their quality of life. On the other hand, despite the benefits, growing the rate of senior residents causes many disturbing issues in the long term. The first problem is that when senior people get older, there will be a significant rise in the level of retired residents. There might be a shortage of labor a social class comprising those who do manual labor or work for wages labour for many jobs and it may harm the nation’s economy. Moreover, older residents need a lot of attention and health care. This may cause a huge burden for the next generation and also for the nation to provide enough hospitals or retirement homes. The second drawback is that more elder residents also increase the rate of unemployment, it might be a burden for the government to provide sufficient social welfare. A low income might be not enough to support the elder people in their daily life. Consequently, the level of criminal also increase, which may harm society. In conclusion, while the rise in the percentage of older people can bring certain advantages regarding rising the nation’s economy or improving the quality of life, the drawbacks in terms of the shortage of labor a social class comprising those who do manual labor or work for wages labour and the high rate of unemployment outweigh these plus points.