In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many people claim that living alone or in small family units have gained popularity and outweighed living in large family groups. While I accept that there are some benefits and drawbacks of this decision, I would agree that it is better to live in an extended family. On the one hand, there are some benefits to living alone or in nuclear family units rather than in large family groups. Firstly, it is an apparent fact that living alone or in a nuclear household helps people to decrease financial pressure from living costs such as accommodation, food, and other bills. A most example of this is according to a survey in the Ho Chi Minh city, the expenditure on basic needs of nuclear families was 15% lower than that in extended households. Another advantage could be that living alone or in small families provides for people to have much private space. This helps people avoid family conflicts between grandparents and children. As a result, family relationships are maintained. On the other hand, it seems to me that people should not live alone or in small households. The main shortcoming is that living alone or in nuclear households makes people lack support from grandparents. This is mean that parents devote more time and energy to take care of children. As a result, they suffer from stress-related health problems. Another disadvantage is the lack of experience from grandparents. This makes them have difficult problems solving real situations in life. For instance, in Viet Nam, there are 65% of citizens living alone admit that they fail to solve difficult situations in society. Moreover, living alone also makes people reduce the likelihood of communication between family members. In conclusion, I believe that there are many minus points for living alone or in small family units, although this decision has some notable upsides.