Some people believe that smoking cigarettes should be banned. On the other hand, there are those who disagree with this measure. Do you agree or disagree with the banning of cigarettes?

There is no denying the fact that smoking cigarettes causes serious health problems and affects both smokers and non-smokers. While it is a commonly held belief that cigarettes should be banned to protect public health, there is also an argument that opposes it, claiming it is a personal choice. In my opinion, I consider that banning cigarettes would be a wise decision to reduce health risks and protect the environment. To begin with, smoking is one of the main causes of deadly diseases. In other words, it leads to serious conditions like cancer, heart disease, and lung problems. In addition, secondhand smoke can harm innocent people, including children and elderly individuals. For example, many studies have shown that people who live with smokers have a higher chance of getting breathing issues and other illnesses, even if they do not smoke themselves. Another point to be considered is that banning cigarettes can lower the number of smokers, especially among young people. It is also possible to say that many teenagers start smoking due to peer pressure or easy access. Moreover, cigarette production and littering harm the environment. For instance, cigarette butts are one of the most common types of trash found in streets, parks, and beaches, and they take years to break down. To sum up, despite people having different points of view, I believe that cigarettes should be banned. It will not only improve people ’s health but also protect the environment and reduce the financial burden on the healthcare system.