In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

It is believed that in secondary and tertiary educational institutions, girls mainly opt for arts subjects, whereas boys are more interested in science stream.The reason for this trend is old rigid beliefs towards girls upcoming life which can be ignored by eliminating gender discrimination. To commence with, girls prefer to study humanities subjects like home science, social sciences because they are taught to become good housewives and mother from early childhood. So, they do not need to study difficult subjects like physics, chemistry, biology and mathematics.To cite an example, A survey conducted in the education of secondary schools in Punjab revealed that more than 75% of the girls adopt an arts stream after their matriculation studies. Consequently, girls do not get a chance to explore their knowledge about scientific world and they lag behind in this fast changing World of technology. On the flip side, parents spend more money on the education of boys as they thought boys will earn money for them after the completion of study. To be specific, the girls went to another home after their marriage, so their income will not raise their parent's financial status. As a result, boys get a job with fat pay scales after studying science subjects and this will definitely add to their family's income. Moreover, this gender discrimination on the basis of study can be tackled by changing attitudes towards girl child education as girls can be more capable than boys and can attain high goals. For instance, being a girl, Sunita Williams achieved a great success in space exploration, whereas Sanjeev Kapoor is the famous chef of India. As a consequence, gender differences would disappear and girls can become more independent by earning their livelihood. To recapitulate, girls choose easy subjects under the belief of becoming a common woman, whereas boys are more curious to learn science subjects because parents fulfil their high fee structure of science subjects, but this trend should be changed as we are heading towards egalitarian society.