Many Teenagers now have their own smartphone. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion

Nowadays, smartphone is being owned by many of adolescents. While overuse of smartphone result in teens poor performance in education, I believe that these electronic devices help in younger ones safety. The main benefit of using a smartphone by boys and girls is that they provide safety. This is to say that there are several applications such as whatsapp, viber, track it, are few of them which are not only used for video calling or chatting, but can also be used for sharing their location. So that parents can track their children location and can alert emergency services or police department if something goes wrong. For example, California police department in a report said that they were able to crackdown 50% of missing cases with the help of the location shared with their parents. In my opinion, younger ones should be given access to a smartphone as they are helpful in safegaurding them. Overuse of a smartphone by youth means they are likely to perform poor in education. There are several applications that they give endless fun and entertainment to them. So they will get addicted to these electronic devices thus spending extended period of time using them, As a result, they have poor educational performance. For instance, a research study by the Department of Education in USA found that 70% of students who failed in their last year grade were spending about 8 to 10 hrs of their daily time on operating phone. I believe that, eventhough they have drawbacks, their impact on childer can be lessen by giving them limited access to devices such as iphone. To conclude, although too much use of a smartphone have negative effect on younger ones education, they also provide safety to them which is much needed for anyone so they should be given access to use them.