Some people say that parents should places restrictions on the hours their children spend watching TV and playing computer games, and encourage them to spend this time reading books instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been a ubiquitous phenomenon that most children use their free time to play video games or watch TV in the current society. Some people advocate that parents should allow children to read more books and restrict them from using technology products. Which approach would be the most suitable for children? This essay will discuss my view in detail with supporting examples. On the one hand, there is a proclivity to believe that children who watch too much TV and play video games will have a detrimental effect. Mainly this is because these TV shows and video games are easy to get addicted to them. For instance, video games usually design a lot of levels that allow players to spend considerable time to solve them, and TV shows are highly entertaining, that makes children reluctant to leave. As a result, there would undoubtedly be a significant impact on children's physical and mental health when parents' do not set up restrictions on video games and TV time. In addition, one should consider that children can benefit from reading, such as increasing reading speed, learning more words, and developing an abundant imagination. In other words, the description of the story can help children to create different pictures and sounds in their minds, which can improve their creativity. Take my own story as an example: when I was a child, I like reading detective novels because the descriptions in the books were highly vivid. I would imagine myself how to crack the case if I was the detective in the book. Therefore, such influence would definitely have a valuable contribution to children's character training, which may even affect their future learning and career development. In conclusion, albeit limiting children's time on TV and video games may deprive them of their fun, it would be more beneficial in their life in the long run. In my view, if parents show as a role model to turn off the TV and read books with their children, they would naturally cultivate reading habits from an early age.