With the pressure on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that no academic subjects at school should be remove from syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There are many discussions about modern education in schools. It is believed that school children need to study academic subjects rather than non-academic ones. Although many people support this idea, I strongly disagree with this opinion due to several reasons such as lack of vital skills and weak health. From the point of view that only academic subjects can bring success to future adults, society can lose the opportunity to raise teenagers in harmony. There are a lot of evidence that non-academic skills such as cookery or PE have the same impact on the children’s development as academic disciplines are considered to have. For example, PE helps children to strengthen their bodies and increases strong will and ability to bear difficulties. Moreover, such skills as cookery or skill to sew can develop attentive and creative people. As a result, after gaining simple physical talents youngsters become more confident due to obtained practice and experience to live. The other reason of non-academic subjects are important is well-being issue. It is obvious that children require activities which improve their energy status as physical exercises and active games. If they do not have PE in schools as a subject, they feel weak and motionless. As a result, they become less interested in the study, they get sick often and do not have the ability to resist diseases. Consequently, society should anticipate demotivated and physically powerless members, who cannot succeed a lot in adulthood because of strength problems or lack of energy. To conclude, school children should have an opportunity to grow mentally and physically stronger. As it was above mentioned, this chance can be given if they have both academic and non-academic subjects to study at schools.