In some schools, students must study music and learn to play a musical instrument. In other schools, studying music may not be required or there may be no music classes at all. Do you think all students should have to study music? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

In some schools, music classes and instrument classes are a compulsory part of curriculums while in others, these courses neither exist nor mandatory. Personally, I believe that music teaching should be choice for students. It can be argued that musical courses are arguably beneficial to a child’s development. In kindergarten and elementary schools, music can be seen as a form of language teaching. Students of these levels who are exposed to music daily are reported to pick up vocabulary and develop oral capabilities more rapidly than those in classes with less musical exposure. On top of that, the playful rhythms and attractive lyrics make classes more interesting and engaging for these infant students. Therefore, the incorporation of music into education could help to facilitate the learning process. However, music may no longer be essential in schools of the upper tiers. Once they grow older, students start to develop their personal references to music, which urges them to get a better understanding of their favourite genres by themselves. Moreover, instrumental teaching is a selective subject, which not only requires natural talents, but also necessitates years of practicing and commitment. For these reasons, forcing students into learning something they are not talented or interested in could lead to resentment and outrage. In conclusion, regardless of positive impacts of learning through music during informative years of life of many students, musical classes should only be compulsory until students develop their own musical tastes later in their life.